Vietnam Visa Exemption

Who need visa for Vietnam? Here below is the list of citizen or national of countries having exemption agreement with Vietnam.

By July 2015, citizens 5 countries: United Kingdom, France, Germany, Spain and Italy holding valid ordinary passports are exempt from visa requirements and are allowed to stay for not more than 15 days. The visa will required to apply in 30 days for re-entry. (This policy will be enforced in the period of one year, over the date of June 30th, 2016, and it will be reconsidered for extension continued or not.)

Area Country Term of residence
Asia Singapore Less than 30 days
Thailand Less than 30 days
Malaysia Less than 30 days
Philippines Less than 21 days
Laos Less than 30 days
Indonesia Less than 30 days
Myanmar Less than 14 days
Brunei Less than 15 days
Japan Less than 15 days
South Korea Less than 15 days
Nordic Sweden Less than 15 days
Finland Less than 15 days
Denmark Less than 15 days
Norway Less than 15 days
European (July 2015 – June 2016) Germany Less than 15 days
France Less than 15 days
Spain Less than 15 days
Italy Less than 15 days
United Kingdom Less than 15 days
If citizens from these countries wish to re-enter Vietnam under visa exemption program again, the second visit cannot be earlier 30 days from the first visit.

Bilateral Exemption

  • The visitors to Phu Quoc Island may stay without a visa for no more than 30 days.¬† This visa waiver program is also applicable to those traveling to the island through any international ports of entry (air and sea).
  • The holders of APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) are granted visa-free access to Vietnam for no more than 60 days.
  • The citizens of Armenia, Algeria, Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Dominican, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, France, Hungary, India, Iraq, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Myanmar, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Russia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovak, Slovenia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, UAE, Uruguay, Venezuela holding Diplomatic or Official passport may stay in Vietnam, visa free, for maximum of 90 days.
  • The citizens of Angola, Azerbaijan, China, Croatia, Kazakhstan, Myanmar holding Diplomatic or Official passport are granted visa-free entry for 30 days
  • The citizens of Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Cuba, North Korea, Nicaragua, Romania holding Diplomatic or Official passport are exempted a visa to Vietnam. The citizens of Uzbekistan holding Diplomatic passport could stay in Vietnam for free visa for 60 days.
  • The citizens of Czech, Estonia, Germany, France, Israel, Italy, Poland, Spain, and Switzerland holding Diplomatic passport are granted 90 day stay without a visa in Vietnam.
  • The citizens of Uzbekistan holding Diplomatic passport are exempted a Vietnam visa for 60 days.
  • The citizens of Iran are allowed to visit Vietnam without a visa for 1 month if holding Diplomatic passport.

Attention: whether you are required a visa or not, your passport should be valid for no less than 6 months prior to the trip or at least 1 month after visa expiry date and have at least 01 empty page left.

Vietnamese people that hold foreign passports and foreigners who are their husbands, wives and children are exempt from visa requirements to enter Vietnam and are allowed to stay for not more than 90 days. In order to be granted visa exemption certificates at Vietnamese representative offices abroad, overseas Vietnamese need conditions:

  • Foreign-issued permanent residence certificate (PRC) with the validity of at least six months since the date of entrance.
  • Visa exemption paper (VEP) is granted by Vietnamese appropriate authorities.

Those who expect to stay more than 90 days must apply for visa according to current stipulations before their entrance.

Others who want to enter Vietnam must be provided with a visa.

Ask us for up-to-date information or assistance.